Lok Sabha polls: Anupam Kher remarks on the “festival of democracy” and advises against complaining if you don’t vote

During the fifth round of the current parliamentary elections, which took place in India’s financial center on Monday, veteran actor Anupam Kher was one of the star of Bollywood.

The actor from “Kaagaz 2” called Election Day a “festival of democracy” and urged people to use their right to vote.
“Today is the festival of democracy, and we should come out and vote to elect our government for the next five years,” Kher said.

In order to emphasize the significance of voting, Kher said, “If you won’t vote today, then you don’t have any right to complain about anything related to the government for the next five years.”

Veteran actor Dharmendra of Bollywood also cast his ballot at the Jamnabai Narsee School in Juhu, Mumbai, earlier in the day.
Celebrities like as Paresh Rawal, Hema Malini, Randeep Hooda, Akshay Kumar, Shahid Kapoor, Sanya Malhotra, RajKummar Rao, and Janhvi Kapoor had a constant presence at the voting places in Mumbai as they participated in the election process.

The fifth round of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections includes elections in Mumbai’s six Lok Sabha seats.
Mumbai North, Mumbai North West, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South, and Mumbai South Central are the constituencies that will vote today.

Mumbai is not the only Maharashtra constituency taking part in this phase; Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Kalyan, Palghar, Bhiwandi, and Thane are among them.

After Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra has 48 Lok Sabha seats, making it the second-largest state in terms of parliamentary constituencies. The seven stages of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections are set to take place between April 19 and June 1, with the announcement of the final results on June 4. Voting started at 7 a.m. and will run until 6 p.m., with the option to stay in line until the closing time to cast a ballot.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) reports that 4.69 crore men, 4.26 crore women, and 5409 people who identify as third genders are among the over 8.95 crore voters taking part in this fifth round of voting. The destiny of the 695 candidates running for seats in this round will be determined by these voters.

Important elections in different constituencies are part of the fifth phase. Among the candidates are well-known figures like Rahul Gandhi, BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Piyush Goyal, Ujjwal Nikam, Karan Bhushan Singh, chief of the LJP (Ramvilas), chief of the JKNC Omar Abdullah, and leader of the RJD Rohini Acharya.

Phase 5 voting is taking place in eight states and Union Territories (UTs): Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. Fourteen Lok Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh, thirteen from Maharashtra, seven from West Bengal, five from Bihar, three from Jharkhand, five from Odisha, and one from each of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh are up for grabs in this round of voting.

The Election Commission has set up 2,000 flying squads, 2105 static surveillance teams, 881 video surveillance teams, and 502 video watching teams across 94,732 polling places in order to guarantee a peaceful voting environment. The goal of these stringent security measures is to enable a safe and easy voting procedure.

Related Articles

Back to top button