106 candidates are named by the MP Congress committee for the next elections

According to a senior Congress politician who preferred to remain anonymous, the Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee has chosen 106 candidates for the state’s year-end general election.

66 of the 106 candidates will be running in seats that the Bharatiya Janata Party has traditionally won in the past three assembly elections. The other 40 are currently serving MLAs. The party has an additional 56 sitting parliamentarians, making 230 members of the house; nevertheless, the party feels that these MLAs must do more before being approved as candidates.


Undoubtedly, the party has not made any candidates publicly known.


The persons identified have been informed, according to Kamal Nath, head of the Madhya Pradesh Congress, thus there is no need to make their identities public.


In the late-2018 assembly election, the Congress took 114 seats and established the government. However, 28 MPs who supported Jyotiraditya Scindia defected from the party in March 2020, leading to the fall of the Kamal Nath administration and the BJP’s return to power after only 15 months. In the ensuing by-elections held in November 2020, the BJP won 19 out of the 28 assembly seats. With the exception of those 15 months, the BJP has ruled the state since 2003.


“The candidates have been instructed to begin their campaigns in the appropriate assembly seats. To put an end to the argument over ticket distribution and to avoid last-minute squabbles, they were recognized. A second Congress leader, who also wished to remain unnamed, said that the employees and office holders had also been urged to support the candidates.


The Congress maintains that the choice was made after surveying candidates and constituencies, taking caste into account as well.


“We will win this election with micromanagement and social engineering,” said KK Mishra, a spokeswoman for the MP Congress Committee, “and that’s why candidates, who are performing the best in the survey, have been informed that their names have been finalized.”


The BJP, however, made fun of the decision and claimed that all of the tickets had already been sold. Which names for the Congress have been decided upon first: Rahul Gandhi’s, Digvijay Singh’s, or Kamal Nath’s? The fact that the Congress sells tickets is a well-known fact. These 106 must have offered the greatest price, but the election’s outcome won’t be impacted, according to MP BJP media coordinator Ashish Agrawal.


Related Articles

Back to top button