96 Lok Sabha seats are up for grabs in today’s fourth round; Andhra Pradesh and Odisha are holding assembly elections

Monday is scheduled as the fourth round of voting for 96 Lok Sabha seats. Across 1.92 lakh polling stations in 10 states and the U.T., 17.7 crore people are expected to cast ballots, determining the destiny of 1,717 candidates.

In this round, votes will be cast for all 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh and 17 in Telangana. In addition, voting for Andhra Pradesh’s 175 Assembly seats will take place in the fourth round.

1,717 in the conflict

17.70 crore voters in all

Male: 8.97 billion

8.73 crore women

Over 85 years old: 12.49 lakh

Disabled people: 19.99 lakh

Risky conflict

Akhilesh Yadav, the former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, Raosaheb Danve, the union ministers Giriraj Singh (Begusarai, Bihar), Nityanand Rai (Ujiarpur, Bihar), and Asaduddin Owaisi (Hyderabad), YS Sharmila (Kadapa), Ajay Kumar Mishra Teni (Kheri, UP), and Mahua Moitra (Krishnanagar, West Bengal)

The fourth phase will see the start of voting for both the Odisha Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. Up to June 1, the polls will be conducted concurrently in four stages. Four of Odisha’s 21 Lok Sabha seats will be up for election in the fourth phase, while the state’s 28 Assembly seats will also be up for election at the same time. Odisha has 147 Assembly seats overall.

In the meantime, 64 of the 96 Lok Sabha seats up for grabs in the fourth phase are general seats, with the remaining 20 going to candidates from Scheduled Castes and 12 going to Scheduled Tribes.

139 of Andhra Pradesh’s 175 Assembly seats are up for grabs, with 29 reserved for SCs and seven for STs.

Similarly, of the 28 Assembly seats in Odisha that will be decided by voting on Monday, three will go to SCs, 11 to general candidates, and 14 to STs.

In parliamentary constituencies, there are typically eighteen candidates running in the fourth phase.

In the fourth round of voting, there are 17.70 crore voters—8.97 crore men and 8.73 crore women. More than 12.49 lakh people over 85 are registered to vote, while 19.99 lakh voters have physical disabilities.

The ECI has assigned up to 364 observers for the fourth phase, including 126 general observers, 70 police observers, and 168 observers for expenditures.

The ECI has extended the voting hours from 7 am to 6 pm in certain Assembly divisions of Telangana’s 17 parliamentary seats in an effort to boost voter turnout.

According to the IMD prediction, hot weather for the fourth round of voting is not a major issue.

Related Articles

Back to top button