After the roadshow, Tinu files documents stating, “Defeat BJP, save Constitution.”

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) conducted a roadshow in Jalandhar today in conjunction with Pawan Tinu’s filing of nomination papers for the seat as the party’s Lok Sabha candidate.

After a tour from the Kachehri Chowk to the DAC complex, Tinu, the last candidate from each of the five main parties—the Congress, BJP, AAP, SAD, and BSP—filed his nomination papers from Jalandhar. The state’s deadline for submitting nomination papers is May 14.

As Tinu drove through the streets in an open car, party members and fans held cutouts of the candidate, and many yellow AAP flags held signs and led the procession. Senior party officials, including MLAs Inderjit Kaur and Raman Arora, state Finance Minister Harpal Singh Cheema, and Local Bodies Minister Balkar Singh, followed Tinu.

In their separate speeches today, Tinu and State Finance Minister Harpal Cheema both criticized the Central administration. While the Finance Minister restated Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s assertion on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s age, Tinu restated his assertion that the Constitution was under threat.

Shekhwat’s jab at Anita’s nomination and Kejriwal

Union BJP Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat poked fun at Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Monday as he was in Hoshiarpur with BJP candidate Anita Som Prakash for her nomination hearing. Six BJP contenders submitted their nomination forms to the state today, including Anita Som Prakash. Anita presented her nomination in front of Rajasthan Chief Minister Bhajan Lal Sharma and Union Jal Shakti Minister Gajendra Shekhawat, accompanied by her spouse, Union Minister Som Prakash.

Anita Som Parkash conducted her roadshow amid shouts, from Government College to the Hoshiarpur City Center, under a rain of rose petals.

Following the nomination process, the BJP had a conference to present a unified front for the seat. Among those in attendance were BJP heavyweights Sunder Sham Arora, Tikshan Sood, Parvin Bansal, and Rajasthan Chief Minister Bhajan Lal Sharma, as well as union ministers Gajendra Shekhawat and Som Parkash.

Shekhawat remarked, “There is such a government in Punjab; neither the intentions nor the policies are clear,” taking jabs at Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. Their boss is going to return to jail after a grueling 10- to 12-day release from prison. There will be much hoopla when he returns to prison. More than half of the Delhi ministers for the party that ran on the platform of “party with a difference” are now serving prison sentences or are set to serve them soon.

There are now 17 papers in Jalandhar.

For the Jalandhar Lok Sabha constituency, a total of 17 nomination papers had been received as of Monday, despite the fact that there is still one day left to submit them. On Monday, up to ten filings were filed. These were Raj Kumar of the Democratic Party of India, Gulshan Kumar of the Democratic Bharti Samaj Party, Ashok Kumar, an Independent, Pawan Tinu of the AAP, Parshotam Lal of the CPI (M), and Paramjit Kaur Teji of the Shiv Sena. Sushil Rinku of the BJP, Balwinder Kumar of the BSP, Charanjit Channi of the Congress, Mohinder S. Kaypee of the SAD, and comedian Neetu Shatranwala have previously submitted their papers.

The covering candidates’ papers are the ones that are left. Nomination papers for Dr. Himanshu Aggarwal, the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer of Jalandhar, may be submitted till 3 p.m. on May 14. On May 15, the documents would be examined closely. Until May 17th, candidates may withdraw their papers; beyond that date, they will get symbols on the same day.

Related Articles

Back to top button