Andhra Post-Poll Violence: ECI Calls on CS and DGP to Describe Administration Failure Reasons

Following reports of violence in some areas of Andhra Pradesh following the polls on Monday, the Chief Secretary and the state’s DGP were called by the Election Commission of India to the nation’s capital on Thursday to “personally explain reasons” for the administration’s inability to control the violence and the preventative measures being taken to ensure that such incidents do not occur again.

According to reports, the electoral board has asked the Chief Secretary and DGP of Andhra Pradesh to make sure that violence of this kind never occurs again. It is noteworthy that the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) remains applicable.

“Today, in New Delhi, the Chief Secretary and DGP of Andhra Pradesh have been summoned by the ECI to personally explain the reasons behind the administration’s inability to control post-election violence and the preventive measures being taken to avoid any such incidents in the future,” sources told News18.

They went on to say that the violence in Andhra Pradesh after the election has been duly noted by the ECI.

The Commission has emphasized again and again that violence has no place in a democratic society. Chief Polling Commissioner Rajiv Kumar has been closely observing the polling area since the announcement of the general elections to guarantee a calm and violence-free process.

On Monday, the state held simultaneous elections for the Lok Sabha and the legislature. Violence between supporters of the opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the governing Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) was recorded in Tirupati, Tadipatri, and Palnadu regions later on Monday and Tuesday. Although no deaths were recorded, a number of individuals were hurt, including poll workers.

Until the election results are declared and the procedure is finished, the MCC is in effect. According to the ECI figures, Andhra Pradesh’s overall voter turnout for the 175 Assembly constituencies and 25 Lok Sabha seats was 80.66 percent. On June 4, the results of the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be announced.

Related Articles

Back to top button