By winning over 3,700 seats in the rural Bengali elections, TMC maintained a commanding advantage

According to data released by the State Election Commission, the Trinamool Congress won over 3,700 gramme panchayat seats and was in the lead in another 3,167 in West Bengal, while the opposition BJP took home 673 seats and was in the lead in 782 of the state’s 63,229 gramme panchayat seats.

According to the statement, the CPI(M) won 241 seats and was in the lead in around 627 gramme panchayat (GP) seats, followed by its partner Congress, which took home 107 GP seats and was in the lead in 241 more seats.

In addition to the gramme panchayat seats, there are also 9,730 panchayat samiti seats and 928 zilla parishad seats up for election in the three-tier panchayat election, which started smoothly at 8 am on Tuesday under strict security, according to authorities.

There are 22 districts with a total of 339 counting locations. South 24 Parganas has the most counting centres with 28, while Kalimpong has the fewest with just four. Unfavourable weather is also seen in several northern areas.

The counting started at 8 am and will probably go on for the next two days. The process of counting the votes and compiling the results will take some time, according to an SEC representative.

In the Darjeeling Hills, the BGPM was in the lead in 21 of the 598 seats in Darjeeling and 281 in Kalimpong, while the BJP was in the lead in one and the independents were in the lead in four.

In order to prevent any unforeseen situations, prohibitory orders according to Section 144 of the CrPC have been issued outside of all counting sites by armed state police troops and central forces. There are 767 strong rooms in all, distributed across 22 districts.

At several sites, sizable groups of supporters of various candidates came to guarantee that the counting was done properly.

TMC supporters celebrated their win by dancing and dousing one another with green gulal in several areas.

Initial patterns began to emerge, and the TMC and BJP engaged in verbal combat. The BJP accused the TMC of “making last desperate attempts to loot votes by blocking opposition agents from entering counting centres.”

By preventing candidates from the BJP and other opposition political parties from accessing counting stations, TMC thugs are attempting desperately to steal the elections. In order to scare the counting agents, they are being prevented from approaching the location, according to Suvendu Adhikari, head of the opposition.

TMC spokesman Kunal Ghosh denied the accusations, saying, “Sensing defeat, they are making baseless allegations.”

“This is BJP’s last attempt to come up with lame excuses to make up for its own organisational failures,” he added. “Rejected by the people and sensing humiliating defeat.”

On Saturday, violence erupted during the rural elections in West Bengal, leaving 15 people dead as vote boxes, ballot papers, and explosives were hurled at competitors in various locations.

11 of those who died belonged to the TMC. Since the election dates were published on June 8 and the voting process started, a total of 30 people have died in the state.

In contrast to the 69.85 vote percentage that was registered in West Bengal’s 696 polling places up to 5 p.m. on Monday, where re-voting was conducted, there was an 80.71 percent voter participation on Saturday.

After considering claims of violence and tampering with ballot boxes and vote papers on Saturday, the decision was made to hold new elections.

A total of 5.67 crore individuals who reside in rural regions of the state were able to vote for 2.06 lakh candidates for 73,887 panchayat seats.

The violence on Saturday was consistent with the state’s history of bloody rural elections, which includes the infamous 2003 panchayat elections, which saw a total of 76 people slain during the voting process, including almost 40 on election day.

With more than 30 fatalities since voting was announced earlier last month, this year’s death toll is already almost equal to that of the 2018 panchayat elections.

Contrary to the 2018 rural elections, when the governing TMC won 34% of the seats without any opposition, this time the opposition ran candidates in more than 90% of the seats.

90% of the panchayat seats and all 22 zilla parishads were won by the governing TMC in the 2018 rural elections. The Opposition claims they were prohibited from submitting nominations in some seats as a result of the extensive violence that marred the polls.

Related Articles

Back to top button