Congress, AAP Decide on Seat-Sharing: Delhi Gets a 4:3 Seat Divide, Punjab Has Separate Contests

The Congress and Aam Aadmi Party declared on Saturday that they will be sharing seats in a number of states, including Punjab and Delhi.

They have decided to hold separate campaigns in Punjab and have agreed upon a 4:3 seat-sharing formula for Delhi. Goa, Haryana, Chandigarh, Gujarat, and Haryana have also signed deals.

According to Congress leader Mukul Wasnik, the AAP would run in the New Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi, and East Delhi districts. The venerable party will run in the constituencies of Northwest Delhi, Northeast Delhi, and Chandni Chowk.

Delhi has seven parliamentary seats, all of which the BJP won in the 2019 elections.

“In Gujarat, the Congress will field candidates from the remaining 24 seats, while the AAP will run from Bharuch and Bhavnagar. The AAP will run in Kurukshetra for the Lok Sabha seat in Haryana. The Congress will run for both of Goa’s Lok Sabha seats, according to PTI. According to him, the Congress would also run for Chandigarh’s lone seat.

Leader of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Sandeep Pathak, claims that the Congress and AAP have decided to run separate campaigns in Punjab for the Lok Sabha elections. Pathak stressed, nevertheless, that both parties are still dedicated to winning all seven Delhi seats, even if they would be using different electoral emblems in this distinct fight.

The INDIA bloc, a confederation of opposition groups created to take on the BJP in the next general elections, includes both the Congress and the AAP.

In addition, the AAP has already revealed their candidates for the Gujarati Lok Sabha constituencies of Bharuch and Bhavnagar.

“The nation needs a powerful substitute now. The nation has benefited from the formation of this partnership. The INDIA coalition is going to fight this election. The coalition will lead the BJP’s estimates to be incorrect,” Pathak said.

AAP Gujarat President Isudan Gadhvi comments on seat-sharing with the Congress for the Lok Sabha elections: “This alliance is done to save the nation, which is above any party.” The results of the Chandigarh mayoral elections were evident to everybody, as democracy was upheld by the Supreme Court. As Arvind Kejriwal had said, we would stay a part of the INDIA alliance. We are certain that the INDIA bloc will provide significant outcomes, and we will exert all of our effort towards winning congressional seats. With everything going on, the BJP is terrified.”

Congress will run for three of the seven seats in Delhi, while AAP will run for four.
The Congress will run for 24 of the 26 seats in Gujarat, while the AAP will field candidates in the constituencies of Bharuch and Bhavnagar.
With 10 seats in Haryana, Congress will run for 9 of them, giving the AAP the chance to win Kurukshetra.
Congress will run for the lone seat in Chandigarh.
Congress will run for both seats in Goa.
Both parties will run separately in Punjab.

Related Articles

Back to top button