Lok Sabha elections 2024: Delhi seat-sharing agreement completed; AAP will run for four seats, Congress for three

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress, both members of the Opposition’s INDIA coalition, have finalized their seat-sharing arrangement in Delhi with just a few months till the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. An announcement is expected shortly, according to sources who spoke to Indian Express.

After several rounds of discussion over the course of several months, the decision has been made. Both party sources verified that they had agreed upon a four-three seat-sharing arrangement, whereby Congress will fight three seats and the AAP four.

A top AAP official told The Indian Express, “Yes, the seat-sharing agreement for Delhi has been reached between both parties; we will disclose which seat will be contested by a candidate from which party shortly.”

According to Aam Aadmi Party sources, the Congress would run candidates in the Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, North East Delhi, and South Delhi seats, while the AAP will field candidates in the South Delhi, West Delhi, North West Delhi, and New Delhi seats. PTI reported.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) now holds all seven Lok Sabha seats in the nation’s capital.

The formal announcement of the seat-sharing agreement is anticipated shortly. This is a noteworthy advancement for the INDIA group, which has had difficulties in finalizing seat-sharing agreements with just a few weeks remaining before the Lok Sabha election.

The opposition bloc, which was formed in June with the goal of unifying the opposition and defeating Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Bharatiya Janata Party, has already lost two significant members to the BJP: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) and, perhaps, Jayant Chaudhary’s Rashtra Lok Dal.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) has also retreated to the periphery of the alliance, refusing to participate in seat-sharing negotiations in West Bengal after to repeated criticisms of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee by Congressman Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

Related Articles

Back to top button