Manish Tewari, HS Lucky, and Pawan Kumar Bansal have been selected for tickets to the Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat

The Congress has selected three candidates for the Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat: former Union minister Pawan Kumar Bansal, Anandpur Sahib MP Manish Tewari, and local Congress president HS Lucky.

Lucky confirmed this by saying, “These names have been shortlisted by the Congress Pradesh Committee.” The Congress Working Committee will now make the ultimate decision.

In addition to Bansal and Lucky, Manoj Lubana, the president of the City Youth Congress, and Harmail Kesari, the previous president of the Youth Congress, obtained application forms for tickets. The form from the municipal party unit has not yet been formally accepted by Tewari. A party leader said, “His name has been included by the party high command.”

The four-time MP Bansal was chosen once again by the Congress to run for the Chandigarh Legislative Seat in 2014 and 2019, however he was defeated both times by Kirron Kher of the BJP. In 1991, he became the first member of the Lok Sabha when he won the Congress ticket for Chandigarh. From this seat, he was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1999, 2004 and 2009. Tewari has shown interest in running from Chandigarh in the LS elections.

Related Articles

Back to top button