Phase Five of UP: 27.76% of voters cast ballots till 11 a.m

In the fifth round of the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh on Monday, an estimated 27.76 percent of voters cast ballots.

Voting in this phase’s 14 LS seats and assembly by-election is taking place in the midst of an extreme heat wave in the polling area.

According to ECI sources here, the voting proceeded without incident, with the exception of a few minor EVM glitches in the early hours. No complaints had been received from any location.

Voters, mostly older folks, were lined up at their individual booths in Lucknow, the state capital, starting at six in the morning, even though polls didn’t open until seven. Due to malfunctioning EVMSs, voting in numerous Lucknow booths began later than planned in the morning.

Rahul Gandhi, the head of the Congress, and five Union ministers are among the 144 candidates whose fates will be determined in this round.

The union ministers are Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma from Jalaun, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti from Fatehpur, Kaushal Kishore from Mohanlalganj, Smriti Irani from Amethi, and Rajnath Singh from Lucknow.

From Rae Bareli, Rahul Gandhi is running for office. After traveling to Rae Bareli from Delhi, he would tour the constituency’s voting places, beginning with the booths for the Bachhrawan and Harchandpur Assembly constituencies.

In these 14 Lok Sabha seats, 2.70 crore voters—1.43 crore men and 1.27 crore women—will cast ballots in 17,128 polling places and 28,688 voting booths.

4.59 lakh people vote in the assembly segment for Lucknow (East).

BSP leader Mayawati, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and Lucknow BJP candidate cast their ballots in Lucknow, while Union Minister Smriti Irani used her right to vote in Gauriganj (Amethi).

Every politician urged the electorate to use their democratic rights.

After casting her ballot in Lucknow, Mayawati spoke with the media and expressed her optimism that there will be a shift in leadership this time. The fact that the public is quiet and observing everything may be used to assess it.

By 11 a.m., the average vote percentage in the 14 Lok Sabha of Uttar Pradesh had risen to 27.76 percent, according to the EC.

At 11 a.m., the following constituencies had the highest voting results: Amethi (27.20%), Banda (29.52%), Barabanki (30.60%), Faizabad (29.54%), Gonda (26.68%), Hamirpur (28.14%), Jalaun (26.797%), Jhansi (29.82%), Kaiserganj (26.792%), Kaushambi (26.11%), Lucknow (22.11%).
Rae Bareli: 28.10% and Mohanlalganj: 28.52%.

In the Lucknow (East) assembly by-elections, 22.48% of voters cast ballots.

Voting began at 7 a.m. and will run until 6 p.m.

Related Articles

Back to top button