Police Commissioners from Jalandhar and Ludhiana have been assigned to non-election duty

Two Punjab Police officers have been reassigned from their existing positions to non-election tasks by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

According to a representative for the Chief Electoral Officer’s office, Kuldeep Chahal, the current Police Commissioner of Ludhiana, and Swapan Sharma, the current Police Commissioner of Jalandhar, have been moved from their respective positions.

The Punjab Chief Secretary received a letter from the ECI directing the two personnel to be put on non-election-related tasks. In addition, the Chief Secretary has been requested by the Commission to provide a panel of three qualified officers for each of the Jalandhar and Ludhiana jobs that need to be filled.

Related Articles

Back to top button