Significant renovations to Andhra Pradesh’s railway stations

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will electronically lay the foundation stones on February 26 for the reconstruction of 10 railway stations in the Vijayawada division and 12 in the Waltair division as part of the second phase of the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS), which would be a major boost to Indian railroads.

Governor S Abdul Nazeer would be present at the Gunadala event, declared Vijayawada Divisional Railway Manager (DRM) Narendra A. Patil during a news conference on Saturday.

“The renovation seeks to improve the infrastructure and passenger experience. Of the Rs 460.98 crore approved for the refurbishment of the 10 stations, an astounding Rs 246.7 crore would be used for the upgrading of Rajahmundry railway station. The division has already spent a total of Rs 161 crore on commissioning RUBs, according to the DRM.

The following ten stations—Anaparthi, Bapatla, Chirala, Gudivada, Gunadala, Machilipatnam, Rayanapadu, Rajahmundry, Samalkot, and Elamanchili—were chosen for this year’s second edition of ABSS.

The Prime Minister’s August 2023 initiative, ABSS, aims to upgrade 1,275 Indian Railways stations in two stages.

Eleven stations under the Vijayawada Division were chosen for reconstruction in the first phase. Additionally, he said that ten stations have been selected for refurbishment in the lead-up to the second phase’s debut.

The foundation stone for nine road underpasses (RuP) in the South Central Railway (SCR) Zone will be set, and 50 recently completed RuPs will be dedicated to the country.

Narendra A. Patil said, “RUPs, which were put into service at a cost of Rs 160.39 crore, will ensure safe connectivity and commuting for the people of Andhra Pradesh, improving safety and reducing pressure on loco pilots by eliminating level crossings.”

Plans also call for the construction of two brand-new station structures at Narsapur and Anaparthi. In addition, work is being done at 16 separate stations to build 16 foot-over-bridges (FOB) with a roomy gangway width of 12 meters.

The Waltair division will create 12 railway stations.

On Monday, the Waltair division of the East Coast Railway zone will host the official opening of development works valued at Rs 661.60 crore, as announced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. In a statement to the media on Saturday, DRM Saurabh Prasad said that the Waltair division would build up to 12 railway stations as Amrit Bharat stations. Additionally, he said, four RoBs would be built on the Visakhapatnam-Palasa segment between the stations of Visakhapatnam and Dusi.

He promised that station construction would be ready by the end of the next fiscal year, citing the completion of the DPR and designs for the RoBs.

The Prime Minister reportedly lay the groundwork in November 2022 for the Rs 492.64 crore reconstruction of Visakhapatnam station, while last year saw the start of development projects for Duvvada, Vizianagaram, Damanjodi, and Jagdalpur.

The DRM said that around 15 Amrit Bharat stations, including 10 in Andhra Pradesh, 4 in Odisha, and 1 in Chhattisgarh, are being created in the division, adding that station development activities are being undertaken with Rs 1,029.87 crore and four RoBs with Rs 218.13 crore.

A list of the ten stations is as follows: Naupada Junction, Bobbili Junction, Simhachalam, Kothavalasa, Cheepurupalli, Srikakulam, Araku, Duvvada, and Vizianagaram.


Related Articles

Back to top button