West Bengal government is instructed by the Election Commission to designate Sanjay Mukherjee as DGP

Less than twenty-four hours after Vivek Sahay was nominated for the position, the Election Commission withdrew him from office on Tuesday and instructed the state administration to replace him with Sanjay Mukherjee.

Sahay was appointed on the basis of seniority, but a top source said that the poll panel picked Mukherjee as the DGP since Sahay is expected to superannounce in the last week of May, just before the Lok Sabha elections end.

Mukherjee, an IPS officer from the 1989 batch, was the second of the three officials on the West Bengal government’s proposed list for the DGP position to the EC.

The state was instructed by the poll panel to guarantee prompt adherence and validate the appointment by Tuesday at 5 p.m.

Related Articles

Back to top button