First Indian to compete in Women’s Caribbean Premier League is young off-spinner Shreyanka

The Guyana Amazon Warriors have recruited young off-spinner Shreyanka Patil, making her the first Indian to participate in the Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL), which runs from August 31 to September 10.

Top players including Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Jemima Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, and Richa Ghosh have all participated in the WBBL in Australia and The Hundred in England. The BCCI permits Indian women’s cricketers to compete in foreign tournaments.

Shreyanka, who rose to prominence with RCB in the Women’s Premier League, will be the first female athlete to get a contract offer from an international league even before making her senior international debut.

In two completed games for India A, she got nine wickets, earning her the title of player of the tournament in the Women’s Emerging Asia Cup in Hong Kong.

Seven matches will be contested over the course of 11 days during the WCPL season of 2023.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors, Trinbago Knight Riders, and Barbados Royals will be the three teams playing in the 2023 season. The top athletes from the Caribbean, including Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, and Stafanie Taylor, are represented on the star-studded teams.

In an enlarged WCPL, there will also be international players from countries like Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Ireland, and India, including some of the top cricketers in the world.

Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, and Fran Jonas, all from New Zealand, will compete in the WCPL in 2023. Australians Laura Harris and Amanda-Jade Wellington will also be there. Dane van Niekerk, Mignon de Preez, and Shabnim Ismail are more South Africans who will attend the 2023 occasion.

Related Articles

Back to top button