In honor of Suryakumar Yadav for winning ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, the Mumbai Indians

In T20 cricket, Suryakumar Yadav seemed to have grown into a titan. For the second year in a row, the middle-order batsman from India has been voted the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year. The accomplishment attests to Surya’s ongoing supremacy in the game’s shortest format.

The Mumbai Indians, the right-handed batter’s Indian Premier League (IPL) team, congratulated him on winning the prized honor. The brand shared an Instagram photo of Surya receiving the award. Wearing India’s T20 World Cup uniform, he was seen standing with the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year trophy.

The caption on the post said, “Pose toh aise kar rahe hai jaise ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Year ho (Posing like the ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Year).” Surya uploaded the same picture from his account as well. The batsman captioned the photo with the words, “Grateful,” expressing his appreciation for the coveted prize.

After finishing his IPL season with the Mumbai Indians, Suryakumar Yadav took out for the United States. He is in New York right now, where the Indian squad has been getting ready for the Twenty20 World Cup. Due to injuries, Surya was sidelined for the first few IPL games in 2024.

After his recovery, Surya continued to play for the Mumbai Indians. This season, he played in eleven franchise competitions and amassed 345 runs, which included three fifty-plus scores and an undefeated fifty-ball century. His strike rate is above 165 and his average is 34.50.

Gaining the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year title shortly before the World Cup would undoubtedly give Suryakukar Yadav more self-assurance. Along with Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya, he will represent India as a middle order.

Surya has played for India in 60 Twenty20 International matches since his introduction to the national team. At an amazing strike rate of 171.55, he has amassed a total of 2141 runs. Throughout his T20I career, the 33-year-old has smashed 17 half-centuries and crossed the 100-run threshold four times.

Surya has filled in as interim skipper in many bilateral Twenty20 International series while Rohit Sharma has been absent; his most recent assignment came against South Africa in December of last year. On June 1, India plays a warm-up match for the T20 World Cup against Bangladesh, and Surya will be wearing the Blue jersey.

Related Articles

Back to top button