Men's IPL record is broken by Women's Premier League, which receives bids of Rs. 4669.9 crore

Men's IPL record is broken by Women's Premier League, which receives bids of Rs. 4669.9 crore

New Delhi: According to Jay Shah, the Honorary Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the group has received a staggering INR 4669.99 crore in bids to own teams in the upcoming Women's Premier League (WPL). He added that this amount has surpassed that of the 2008 Men's IPL's inaugural season.

"Today is a historic day in cricket since the #WPL's first team bidding shattered the records set by the 2008 Men's IPL!" Congratulations to the winners! Our total bid was Rs. 4669.99 Cr.

"This ushers in a revolution in women's cricket and lays the way for a revolutionary path ahead for our women cricketers as well as for the whole sports community," said one commentator.

"The #WPL would provide an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits every stakeholder and would bring about the required improvements in women's cricket. The league's name is Women's Premier League, according to the @BCCI (WPL). Let the adventure begin," Shah said in a string of tweets on Wednesday.

The five franchise owners and the five home cities for the WPL will be announced by the BCCI on January 25. It is known that 17 parties are vying to own teams in the five-team WPL, including seven men's IPL franchises: Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

According to several sources, Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Indore, Lucknow, and Mumbai have been considered as potential home cities for the WPL. The player auction is anticipated to take place in early February, and the debut season of the WPL may take place in March of this year.

The WPL's unified bid for media rights (i.e., Global Televisions Rights and Global Digital Rights) for the years 2023–2027 was earlier, on January 16, won by Viacom18 Media Private Limited.

With a bid of INR 951 million, Viacom18 secured the rights, paying INR 7.09 crore for each match. For the first three seasons, 22 matches are anticipated, with the option of expanding that number to either 33 or 34 matches starting in 2026.