T20 World Cup 2024: On May 25, the majority of Indian players and support staff will go for New York

Only after the May 26 IPL final will the remaining Indian players go for the T20 World Cup, with the bulk of them and the huge support crew flying out to New York on May 25.

Prior to this, the players from clubs who did not make it to the play-offs were scheduled to depart for New York on May 21, two days after the IPL’s last league match on May 19. However, it has now been discovered that plans have changed, and the first group of players will instead depart on May 25.

“On May 25, players and support staff are expected to depart, including captain Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Arshdeep Singh, and Axar Patel,” a BCCI source with knowledge of the situation told PTI.

The insider said, “Originally, the first batch’s departure date was May 21, but because India is only playing one warm-up match (against Bangladesh on June 1), the players would get to spend a few additional days at home.

Only the players who competed in the Indian Premier League final will return; everyone else will depart for New York on May 27.

In addition, the team will have enough time to recover from jet lag and have three or four productive net sessions before the Bangladesh warm-up match.

India’s campaign will begin in New York on June 5 against Ireland, while on June 9 it will be the main matchup versus Pakistan.

The following players represent India: Rohit Sharma, the captain; Hardik Pandya, the vice captain; Yashasvi Jaiswal; Virat Kohli; Suryakumar Yadav; Rishabh Pant, the wicketkeeper; Sanju Samson, the wicketkeeper; Shivam Dube; Ravindra Jadeja; Axar Patel; Yuzvendra Chahal; Arshdeep Singh; Jasprit Bumrah; and Mohd. Siraj.

Related Articles

Back to top button