5 MLC seats in the UP Legislative Council are up for election, and there are 63 candidates running

5 MLC seats in the UP Legislative Council are up for election, and there are 63 candidates running

Three graduate districts and two teacher constituencies are up for election in the biannual election for five Legislative Council seats starting at 8 a.m. on Monday. There are a total of 44 individuals running for three graduate-level positions, and 19 for two teacher-level positions. In five seats, there might be as many as 63 people running.

39 districts, including Prayagraj, Kaushambi, Fatehpur, Banda, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Kanpur Nagar, Kanpur Dehat, Unnao, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur, Badaun, Rampur, Moradabad, Amroha, Bijnor, Sambhal, Bahraich, Shrava

In three graduate seats, a total of 6.32 lakh voters—3.93 lakh men and 2.39 lakh women—will cast ballots. In two teacher constituencies, up to 53.92 voters—nearly 35,000 men and more than 18,000 women—will cast ballots.

Three graduate constituencies of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council—Gorakhpur-Faizabad graduate constituency, Kanpur graduate constituency, and Bareilly-Moradabad graduate constituency—as well as two teacher constituencies—Allahabad-Jhansi teacher constituency and Kanpur teacher constituency—will be subject to voting, according to Additional Chief Electoral Officer Ratnesh Singh.

Along with 594 sector magistrates and 234 zonal magistrates, the Election Commission has also placed one observer in each constituency to monitor the voting process. Micro-observers have been placed at each polling place, and the election will be videotaped. To finish the voting process, 4,941 poll workers have been assigned.

Voters put their preferences in numerical order in front of each candidate's name on ballot sheets, which will be used for voting, Singh said. On February 2, votes will be counted at counting locations in Bareilly, Jhansi, Gorakhpur, and Kanpur.