BSP’s successful LS polling tactic: field candidates with criminal histories and turncoats

May 14: Lucknow In an attempt to improve its chances of winning in Uttar Pradesh and become a formidable rival to the BJP, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) decided to field candidates only based on their winnability in the Lok Sabha elections.

In these elections, it gave tickets without hesitation to turncoats and candidates with a criminal record. Prioritizing the winnability element above all other factors, including public perception, was necessary.

Mayawati, the head of the BSP, said in 2021 that her party will not run any criminal candidates in elections.

But a glance at the BSP’s slate of candidates reveals that the party has broken its word.

Vijendra Singh, the BSP candidate in Bijnor, is facing nine criminal offenses, including the well-known bike-bot scandal.

The Firozabad-born BSP candidate Chaudhary Basheer is well-known for having six marriages. When his fourth wife claimed he had given her triple talaq, he was sent to prison.

Mahendra Yadav, the BSP candidate in Sitapur, was a member of the BJP until he quit after his offensive video went viral and the party refused to give him a ticket.

Majid Ali, the BSP candidate for Shahjahanpur, is also the subject of six pending charges.

Turncoats have also been warmly received by the party.

Shiv Prasad Yadav, its candidate in Mainpuri, was nominated by the BJP, whereas Kranti Pandey was chosen by the BSP to represent it in Farrukhabad. Pandey has a history in Congress.

The BSP chose Congressman Chhotelal for Bareilly; however, at the last minute, his candidacy was revoked for technical grounds.

Initially, Daya Shankar Pandey, a former BJP office-bearer, was the BSP candidate in Basti. Later on, Lavkush Patel took his position in the party.

Sachidanand Pandey, a BJP candidate, is the BSP’s nominee in Faizabad as well.

The BSP has also provided the mafia with sanctuary in the past.

Several well-known criminals have been associated with the BSP at one point or another, including D.P. Yadav, Mukhtar Ansari, Dhananjay Singh, Sonu Singh, Rizwan Zaheer, Vikas Dubey, Haji Yakub Qureshi, Haji Iqbal, and Sanjeev Dwivedi.

Related Articles

Back to top button