Elections in UP 2024: The BJP Has a Plan to Retake 14 Lok Sabha Seats

Elections in UP 2024: The BJP Has a Plan to Retake 14 Lok Sabha Seats

Four Union ministers have been tasked with evaluating the party's strengths and weaknesses in these districts as the BJP focuses on 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh that it lost in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as the party prepares for the 2024 parliamentary elections.

Bijnor, Amroha, Moradabad, Sambhal, Raebareli, Ghosi, Lalganj, Jaunpur, Ambedkarnagar, Ghazipur, Shravasti, Mainpuri, Saharanpur, and Nagina are the seats controlled by non-BJP parties in the state. Sonia Gandhi of the Congress holds Raebareli as one of these.

Three Lok Sabha members of the Samajwadi Party represent Uttar Pradesh, including Shafiqur Rahman Barq and Dimple Yadav (Mainpuri) (Sambhal). In the state, the BSP has 10 Lok Sabha members.

"The party has assigned responsibilities to four Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Annapurna Devi, Ashwini Vaishnaw, and Jitendra Singh to examine the strength, weakness, difficulties, and threats on the lost seats," a senior BJP official was quoted as saying by PTI.

"These ministers evaluated these sectors in the preliminary phase and provided the party with a report. Amarpal Maurya, general secretary of the BJP's state unit, has been given permission to act as a liaison between the (party) organization and the government on these 14 seats, according to the senior politician.

Tomar has been tasked with keeping an eye on Lalganj, Ambedkarnagar, Shravasti, and Rae Bareli, according to party insiders.

Singh will be responsible for Mainpuri, Sambhal, Moradabad, and Amroha, while Devi will be in charge of Jaunpur, Ghazipur, and Ghosi. The evaluation of the Saharanpur, Nagina, and Bijnor Lok Sabha seats has been entrusted to Vaishnaw.

Bhupendra Singh Chaudhary, the head of the UP BJP, delegated responsibility for winning all 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state to the office holders during the working committee's state unit meeting last month.

The party has begun conducting discussions with the recipient groups of different schemes of the Center and state governments as part of the measures to safeguard the seas. Also, it has opened up communication with many facets of society.

When his tenure was extended, BJP national president JP Nadda visited Uttar Pradesh on January 20 and spoke with notable members of society, ex-servicemen, booth committee members, and other groups.

Nadda will go to western Uttar Pradesh, according to a party official, and other prominent figures, such as Union Home Minister Amit Shah, would also visit the seats the party lost in 2019.

With regards to the polling places where our candidates did not do well in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Chaudhary said, "We are developing a discourse with the people by identifying such polling places via booth empowerment." The party is also raising awareness of the government's initiatives and programs for public welfare.

The SP, BSP, and RLD together ran for Lok Sabha seats in 2019. The BSP came in second with 10 seats, followed by the Samajwadi Party with 5 seats, and the BJP and its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) with 64 seats.

Raebareli continued to be the Congress' stronghold.

The BJP took over the Samajwadi Party's strongholds of Azamgarh and Rampur in the Lok Sabha by-elections conducted last year.

Unfortunately, the saffron party was unable to win the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seats, which were decided by by-elections when SP founder Mulayam Singh Yadav passed away. Dimple Yadav, Mulayam Singh Yadav's daughter-in-law, was successful in keeping her seat.

Given that Uttar Pradesh has 80 Lok Sabha seats, the election results are noteworthy.