Shivpal Yadav is named the national general secretary of the Samajwadi Party

Shivpal Yadav is named the national general secretary of the Samajwadi Party

Akhilesh Yadav was elected as the party's national president on Sunday, while his uncle Shivpal served as the general secretary of the 62-member national executive.

Among the 14 national general secretaries are Swami Prasad Maurya, who recently sparked controversy with his comments on the Ramcharitmanas, and seasoned politician Azam Khan.

Shivpal and Akhilesh, who split out in 2016, reunited for the Mainpuri Lok Sabha by-election in December of the previous year when Mulayam Singh Yadav, the founder of the Samajwadi Party, passed away.

The SP published the names of the 62 national executive members on their Twitter account on Sunday.

Akhilesh Yadav, the then-chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, and Shivpal Yadav, the SP's then-unit president in the state, engaged in an open dispute in 2016 that resulted in Shivpal Yadav's dismissal from the cabinet. Shivpal Yadav, a party outcast, founded the Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) in 2018 and ran for office in Firozabad against his nephew Akshay Yadav.

There were rumors that he would be officially reinstated in the party after their display of solidarity in Mainpuri.

Former Yogi Adityanath minister Maurya lost the Fazilnagar seat in the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections after switching from the BJP to the SP.

Ravi Prakash Verma, Balram Yadav, Vishwambhar Prasad Nishad, Awadhesh Prasad, Indrajeet Saroj, Ramjilal Suman, Lalji Verma, Ram Achal Rajbhar, J Antony, Harendra Malik, and Neeraj Chowdhury are the other national general secretaries.

Ram Gopal Yadav will remain as national principal general secretary, Kiranmoy Nanda will remain as national vice president, and Akhilesh Yadav will remain in his position as national president.

The party will have 19 national secretaries, including Madhu Gupta, Kamal Akhtar, Rajendra Chowdhury, Rajiv Rai, and Abhishek Mishra. Sudip Ranjan Sen will serve as the party's treasurer.

Among the party's national executive members are Jaya Bachchan, Abu Asim Azmi, Ram Govind Chowdhury, Pawan Pandey, Lilawati Kushwaha, Ujjwal Raman Singh, Akshay Yadav, Tej Pratap Yadav, Dharmendra Yadav, and Raj Kumar Mishra.