The Bihar legislature votes in favor of Nitish Kumar

The Bihar legislature on Monday gave the NDA administration, led by Nitish Kumar, a vote of confidence. Reports state that 129 ballots were cast in favor of the new administration while the opposition abstained. the bihar legislature votes in favor of nitish kumar nitishkumarptinew 2 d 11zon

A PTI report states that there are 243 MLAs in the Bihar legislature.

As to the PTI report, the Bihar NDA government, which was established after the recent defection of JD(U) president Nitish Kumar, requested a vote of confidence on Monday, citing favorable figures.

Governor Rajendra Arlekar gave a speech to the bicameral legislature prior to the trust vote. Following his speech, they discussed the no-confidence motion against Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary of the previous “Mahagathbandhan” government, who had refused to resign despite the NDA government filing a motion against him.

According to the PTI report, Guv Arlekar said during his address that “the government’s top priority is ensuring that the state is run according to the law.” The strength of the police force has been expanded in order to promote peace and order.” According to PTI, he also discussed the government’s welfare initiatives in spite of opposition sloganeering generating unrest.

Bihar Assembly composition

The Hindustani Awam Morcha, headed by former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, JD(U), the BJP, and one independent candidate comprise the Nitish Kumar-led administration. Their total strength in the 243-seat legislature, where the majority mark is 122, is 128 MLAs.

Bihar’s political elite was divided and conjectured on the recent absence of some MLAs from the JD(U) parliamentary party meeting and the BJP’s training session in Bodh Gaya. The ‘Mahagathbandhan’ has been under great scrutiny for the missing MPs, as PTI reported, alleging that the NDA could not have enough votes to dismiss the Speaker.

The article claims that concerns continue even after the JD(U) and BJP leadership promised that all MPs will be present for significant votes. In order to guarantee full attendance, the JD(U) hosted a number of MLAs in a fancy hotel after their party conference, while BJP MLAs were requested to stay at the home of Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Kumar Sinha after they returned from the workshop.

Though its MLAs remain united, the ‘Mahagathbandhan’—which consists of the RJD, Congress, CPI(ML), CPI, and CPI(M)—said that dissatisfaction could be brewing inside the NDA ranks. The article further said that worries have been raised by the JD(U) and BJP’s quick changes in strategy, which have sparked rumors of potential defections.

The Mahagathbandhan MPs are said to have convened at the residence of their leader, Tejashwi Yadav, who resigned from the coalition after Nitish Kumar’s resignation as Deputy Chief Minister. The state BJP president, Samrat Choudhary, has cautioned against engaging in any kind of horse trading in the meanwhile.

Even as he begins his unprecedented eighth term as chief minister, Nitish Kumar keeps a tight eye on the JD(U) and actively participates in party meetings and luncheons as the countdown to the pivotal trust vote intensifies. High-stakes political maneuvering is expected to occur in the coming days as parties compete for stability and power in Bihar’s dynamic political environment.

Related Articles

Back to top button