SAD stronghold since ’98, AAP initiates action in Ferozepur

The AAP’s choice to run a Jatt Sikh, Jagdeep Singh Kaka Brar, as its candidate for the Ferozepur parliamentary seat has left opposing political parties, who have not yet announced their nominations, in a difficult situation.

32 percent of votes in Ferozepur are cast by Hindus, 25 percent by Jatt Sikhs, 18 percent by Rai Sikhs, and 11 percent by Kambojs.

The BJP and the Congress are concentrating on offering the ticket to a former MLA, a Khatri, and a former MP, a Rai Sikh, respectively, while the SAD has been preparing to field someone from the family of a former MP, a Jatt Sikh.

In addition, the names of two former cabinet ministers are being circulated. It is also anticipated by the political parties that in the following two to three days, a prominent politician from this constituency would change sides.

SAD leader Sukhbir Singh Badal, who represents Ferozepur as an MP now, has said he would not run for office in the Lok Sabha this time. Since 1998, the Akali Dal has been the winner of this seat. Nevertheless, out of the nine Assembly districts that are part of this constituency, the party has 0 MLAs.

Harjinder Singh Kaka Sran of the AAP managed to get only 31,872 votes in 2019, whereas Sher Singh Ghubaya of the Congress received 4,34,577 votes, and Sukhbir received 6,33,427 votes.

There are nine Assembly segments in the Ferozepur parliamentary constituency: Ferozepur (Urban), Ferozepur (Rural), Jalalabad, Fazilka, Balluana, Abohar, Malout, and Muktsar. All eight MLAs in this constituency are AAP members, with the exception of Abohar.

“The other parties are undoubtedly in a difficult situation as a result of the party’s choice to choose Jatt Sikh as its candidate, since nobody anticipated this. It has been noted that in the past, voters have often supported politicians from their local neighborhood. The votes will now be split and candidates from other groups will gain if a Jatt Sikh receives the ticket from another party, the ticket contender said, requesting anonymity.

Regarding the possibilities of the AAP candidate, a colleague said, “Kaka is a modest and non-controversial man.” Despite serving as the vice-president of the AAP state unit, he only engages with the Muktsar, Malout, and Jalalabad Assembly seats personally.

In 2014, Kaka joined the AAP. He was elected as an Independent councilor in 2002 and then ran as a SAD candidate.

He ran as the AAP’s candidate from Muktsar in 2017, however Kanwarjit Singh Rozy Barkandi of SAD defeated him. But in 2022, he triumphed against Barkandi by 34,194 votes.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button