Imran Khan, a former prime minister of Pakistan, will run for all 33 open parliamentary seats

Imran Khan, a former prime minister of Pakistan, will run for all 33 open parliamentary seats

Imran Khan, a former Pakistani prime minister, has determined that all 33 vacant seats in the National Assembly would be up for election in by-elections in March.

Imran Khan would run in the by-elections from every seat, according to senior PTI leader Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who was reported by The Express Tribune as stating.

The dates of the byelections for the 33 National Assembly seats were announced by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday. The by-elections will take place on March 16.

After NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignations of PTI legislators, the seats became vacant, necessitating the byelections.

PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry already declared the party chief's intention to run in by-elections for every open National Assembly seat earlier this month, on January 17. Fawad had said in a statement on Twitter that "Tehreek-e-Insaf would fight elections on all the seats and Imran Khan will be the candidate of Tehreek-e-Insaf on all thirty-three seats."

According to Qureshi, voters backed PTI during the July 17 by-elections as well, and the party is hoping that on March 16 they would show their support for Imran Khan once again by casting their ballots.

According to him, it would be a breach of the constitution if the ECP did not organise elections within 90 days of when seats became vacant.

The Express Tribune said that the PTI leader claimed they had no interaction with the authorities.

According to a report in the Dawn newspaper from earlier in the month, Ashraf accepted the resignations of 35 additional Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf legislators.

Following the removal of PTI leader Imran Khan from the National Assembly in April 2022, the PTI legislators resigned in large numbers from the lower chamber of parliament.

However, only 11 of the resignations were accepted by National Assembly speaker Ashraf, who announced that the other legislators will be called in for verification individually.

As the party signalled it will "challenge" Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif with a confidence vote, Ashraf finally accepted the resignations of Sheikh Rashid, the leader of the Awami Muslim League, and 34 additional PTI legislators after delaying the process for eight months.

Currently, 80 PTI legislators have had their resignations accepted, according to the Pakistan-based news outlet.

Others whose resignations were accepted were Haider Ali Khan, Saleem Rehman, Sahibzada Sibghatullah, Mehboob Shah, Muhammad Bashir Khan, Junaid Akbar, Sher Akbar Khan, Ali Khan Jadoon, Engineer Usman Khan Tarakai, and Mujahid Ali.

The resignations of Andaleeb Abbas, Asma Qadeer, Maleeka Ali Bokhari, and Munawara Bibi Baloch from the reserved seats were accepted, according to Dawn.